PDA

View Full Version : 1993 Jeep Wrangler YJ Steering box issue

subee950
02-25-2010, 11:31 AM
I just got my 1993 yj and the pinion nut was loose on it and we got it tight and now the steering box is leaking. I ordered the steering box today but i was thinking is there a iuuse with the box with a 4" rough country suspension lift ???? is there anything that needs to be changed or will the box be fine after i change it ???? I am new to jeep i know alot more about trackers but this is all new to me help me out guys.

PAFirefighter49
02-25-2010, 11:34 AM
I just got my 1993 yj and the pinion nut was loose on it and we got it tight and now the steering box is leaking. I ordered the steering box today but i was thinking is there a iuuse with the box with a 4" rough country suspension lift ???? is there anything that needs to be changed or will the box be fine after i change it ???? I am new to jeep i know alot more about trackers but this is all new to me help me out guys.

Idk too much about that (haven't gotten that far on my TJ)

But do you have a dropped Pitman Arm?

subee950
02-25-2010, 11:36 AM
I really dont know how long is the drop one any idea? i bought it with the lift already on so i dont know??

limegreentj
02-25-2010, 11:54 AM
you'll need a drop pitman arm....i'll measure mine later, it should be the same between tj and yj

if the nut was loose, it probably damaged the shaft/seals and you'll need a new steering box (one from an xj should fit, grab one from the junkyard)

notmYJ
02-25-2010, 12:02 PM
I'm gonna say, you'll be fine with a new box. But instead of a stock one, get a durango or dakota box. It has larger internals and makes turning easier. I am/was running a dakota box with 35's and could turn the wheels wheels lock to lock, not moving, with one finger.

Search www.car-part.com for a good deal on used parts.

subee950
02-25-2010, 12:02 PM