PDA

View Full Version : Need help from the wiring experts...

muddeprived
03-22-2010, 01:20 PM
http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/muddeprived/cherokee/Mudswiring002.jpg

This is a wiring diagram that was made by a fellow jeeper on my other forum. This is to run my elk-960 delay timer to my e-fan to allow it to run for desired amount of time after jeep is shut off.

I'm not quite sure of where to tap into the ignition for this. Do you know what color wire it is and where I can find it in the engine bay? The wiring harness has a godzillion wires and i don't have a jeep manual to tell em apart.

Also I assume I am tapping into the fan's power wire? Which color wire would that be?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to electrical wiring and all that stuff so bear with me. I would rather someone do this for me so I don't burn down the jeep but something inside me wants to give it a try cuz you never learn till you try.

This is for a 2001 XJ by the way.

Thanks

mxg342
03-22-2010, 03:29 PM
You need to find a wire that is hot (+12V) only when the key is on.

If you get a pushpin or a needle, you can probe through the wire insulation and put a cheap test light on the wire. I'm sure there are a ton of wires running through the engine compartment that are this way.

Or run a wire back into the cab and tie into the radio or something. Should be pretty easy.

EDIT: Where's your fuse box?

muddeprived
03-22-2010, 03:37 PM
You need to find a wire that is hot (+12V) only when the key is on.

If you get a pushpin or a needle, you can probe through the wire insulation and put a cheap test light on the wire. I'm sure there are a ton of wires running through the engine compartment that are this way.

Or run a wire back into the cab and tie into the radio or something. Should be pretty easy.

EDIT: Where's your fuse box?

Fuse box is on the passenger side kick panel. I did some nosing around in naxja and I think the black/orange wire is the ignition wire. Not 100% on that though.