PDA

View Full Version : I need solid axle swap help....

radojim
03-28-2010, 01:21 PM
so i F'd up the front end of my colorado pretty bad - the front drive shaft is sitting in my bed.

was talking to deadman tom about it and he strongly recommended an SAS. he said that there are alot of people on here that could help me out or atleast get me headed in the right direction.

tom mentioned a couple axles that might work out for me but after attempting to drown my sorrows i forget which ones he said. i currently have stock 3.73 gears but would consider 4.10s

any thoughts/ideas would really help out as im pretty new to this, thanks guys.

village_idiot
03-28-2010, 01:35 PM
a toy axle or waggy dana 44 would be a good axle for your truck as you are on a 6 lug rear axle. SOA the rear, SOA'd yj springs in the front, you have rack and pinion steering, so your going to need a steering box, the chevy astro box is your best bet for that. i would go over to s10 forum and look at some of the SAS'd s10 builds. i searched last night, and i cant find anyone that has sas'd a h3 of colorado. your gonna need a front crossmember for the spring mounts, most s10 guys use a SKY's manufacturing kit for either the s10 or the toyota. depending on how your oil pan is ( if it hangs down allot) you might need a new one. the size of tire you want to run is the biggest deciding factor on most of this build.

mxg342
03-28-2010, 01:57 PM
SOA and waggy axles don't work too well. It can be done but really not worth it for the price of a chevy housing.

radojim
03-28-2010, 02:12 PM
do the toyota & waggy ( = wagoneer??) axles have the gear housing on the passenger side??

would any sas make the front higher then the back? id rather not touch the back if i didnt have to...

any of these work?
http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/pts/1665026550.html
http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/pts/1664631059.html

Powerguy37
03-28-2010, 02:44 PM