PDA

View Full Version : Grand Cherokee issues

Powerguy37
07-13-2015, 07:05 PM
I'm new to the Grand Cherokee world. I have an 02 Laredo that sat for a year due to bad brake line. Fixed that. Had some bad tie rod ends, replaced all of those. New shocks all around. Unit bearings about 3 years ago. Maybe 2000 miles on since then.

The issue I'm having is more noticeable at highway speeds. When you accelerate of let off the gas pedal, it seems to "float" a little from side to side. Its not the normal body roll I'm used to on the Xterra. It doesn't lean side to side. It's almost as if when I step on the gas, it changes the direction I'm going slightly. When I let off, it comes back.

Any ideas? Bad coil springs, ball joints? It rides great at 70 mph. No death wobble or anything.

tjblair
07-13-2015, 08:06 PM
Rear control arm,Y link, or track bar bushing. It's usually more pronounced if the rear is locked. Put it in park and have someone roll it back and forth against the parking g pin. And lay under it and look for the bad bushing. To check the track bar bushings. Lay under there and have someone rock it side to side in the rear. Again look at the bushings .

Powerguy37
07-13-2015, 08:25 PM
Rear control arm,Y link, or track bar bushing. It's usually more pronounced if the rear is locked. Put it in park and have someone roll it back and forth against the parking g pin. And lay under it and look for the bad bushing. To check the track bar bushings. Lay under there and have someone rock it side to side in the rear. Again look at the bushings .

Thanks, its completely stock. I'm sure none of the bushings have ever been replaced. My son had it 8 years and I did all the maintenance work on it.

Super Scout
07-13-2015, 08:53 PM
Dana, pretty much what Jeff said. When you goto change them PB Blaster and heat, Rockauto always seemed to have insanely low prices on suspension bushings for those.

Mykal
07-13-2015, 10:09 PM
Info above is spot on.