PDA

View Full Version : First lift--seek advice

Heath42
07-30-2015, 12:02 PM
Hi all,

I have 2011 JKU and am about to move to 33" tires. I would like to also put my first lift on at this time and am having a really hard time figuring out what the best bang for my buck will be and what the differences between a lot of these kits are. I am a true novice when it comes to the lifts so any and all help is appreciated. The kits I am looking at are all what I believe to be considered "budget boosts". I would like to keep the ride on this Jeep close to stock as it is very much a Daily Driver but I'd like to get out and play with it a bit on the weekends.

I've been perusing Quadratec and have found a bunch of different options:

Skyjacker 2.5" Softride® Lift Kit with Nitro Shocks

TeraFlex 2.5" Budget Boost without Shocks for 07-15 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK

Rubicon Express 2.5" Budget Boost Suspension System for 07-15 Jeep® Wrangler Unlimited JK 4 Door

I guess I'm really wondering if I can get away with spacers, or if I should be looking at new shocks and/or coils in the package? Pros/Cons to the different types of lifts available. Durability/reliability of the different manufacturers.

Thanks in advance for any help and apologies if I'm overlooking anything obvious or seem too n00b ;)

anodyne33
07-31-2015, 09:38 AM
'Sup noob?

And don't be scared, even goalies can be taught to turn wrenches. Maybe.

muddeprived
07-31-2015, 11:57 AM
If you want close to stock ride quality or better then I would look at the Old Man Emu kit or a Budget Boost kit with Bilstein Shocks. Old Man Emu ain't cheap but you get what you pay for. Finding someone who regrets using OME is RARE. Bilstein puts out some of the best valved shocks for jeeps. The 5100's are awesome.

I don't own a JK but they can't be much different than a TJ when installing a minor lift so I'm guessing you'd want to be sure you got bump stop extensions and sway bar disconnects included in your kit of choice.