PDA

View Full Version : Mechanic recommendation

BlueDevil
07-19-2005, 05:43 PM
Greetings,

I'm new to town (living in the Carnegie area) and looking for a trustworthy mechanic. I have a '94 ZJ that has been driven a few miles in its day (~170k), is fairly stock, and needs regular work. Unfortunately I must admit that I am not good at fixing stuff and often will pay professionals for their help (I know it is a sin to admit this on a Jeep forum so please cut me some slack).

I found the posts related to body shops in the area but didn't see anything related to mechanics. Your recommendations (anything that will keep me away from the dreaded Dealer) are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. I hope to meet you guys on the trail.

-BlueDevil

MF Steve!
07-19-2005, 05:47 PM
welcome. lol...we are the mechanics. weekend wrenching all the time. usually not on ones own rig either. what kinda stuff are you looking to accomplish?

OverkillZJ
07-19-2005, 06:43 PM
You didn't see posts relating to mechanics since the majority of us have been burned and learned to do it ourselves through trial and error :lol:

Bill
07-19-2005, 06:44 PM
Just dont let blackbox or r6cyclegirl do your brake-work.... :roll:

(Oh, that was too easy!)

r6cyclegal
07-20-2005, 08:26 AM
Just dont let blackbox or r6cyclegirl do your brake-work.... :roll:

(Oh, that was too easy!)

FU Didn't see you offering to help. You can't do it without air tools and you don't have airtools so they never got done.

Bill
07-20-2005, 11:14 AM
Women...

Brakes are easily done without air tools... Replacing broken studs is a different story.

(IT WAS A JOKE... SUCK IT UP!)

r6cyclegal
07-20-2005, 01:00 PM
Than why could you and I never do them? We always had to bother someone else to help(DP)?