PDA

View Full Version : Need some road bike help!

JeepGeneral
01-07-2009, 04:07 PM
I decided to ride the MS Bike Tour this year and need a bike for the trip. I have no idea what to look for so hopefully some of you guys can help out. I'm hoping to stay under $600 as I'm just starting out and not too sure on how serious I will be after the actual tour.

1. I took some measurements today and I fall in between a 54cm and 56cm frame. Assuming since I'm relatively tall (6'0) and not into racing (weight isn't a big deal), I would probably be more comfortable on the larger frame. Is this correct?

2. What are the popular, well built brands? When I was a kid Schwinns were a good quality name, now they sell them at Walmart. From what I can gather through reviews on Google, Trek seems to still make a good bike and have some entry level road bikes that would probably fit the bill.

3. Where should I look? In Greensburg there are no bike stores. I'm hoping to find a decent, larger store with lots of different inventory to try. I may consider buying online once I ride a few bikes as well.

4. When do new models come out? My hope is to find a leftover model from last year at a cheap price, hopefully I'm not off in my timing. I may consider a used bike as well since its my first.

5. Is there any particular equipment I can't live without? I've already been told by a bud who used to sell bikes to get clip-in pedals which I'm planning on.

Thanks in advance

jeepxj3
01-07-2009, 05:33 PM
You wont find a light road bike for anything under 1000 bucks. Your best bet is to head to a bike shop and just shop around.

Trazilla in Aspinwall has a great selection of road/triathalon bikes.

As for when new models come out, well they just did, so you might be able to find some old stock out there, dont hesitate to look into bikes that you have never heard of before as well.

Are you looking for a 10 speed or single speed?

JeepGeneral
01-07-2009, 05:58 PM