PDA

View Full Version : Rust Prevention ?

RedRaider
02-11-2009, 04:03 PM
Does anyone know of or used a product for protecting bare metal from rusting, kinda like Fast Etch, Bull Frog, or Boeshield T-9? Basically, I want to sandblast my frame to bare metal and not have to paint it and then grind off the paint prior to welding patch panels, suspension, etc. It'd be nice if the product could be removed with water or paint thinner, or even better, doesn't have to be removed to get solid welds, though unlikely. Let me know what you suggest, where I can get it, and how much it costs

Dyno Doug
02-12-2009, 11:28 AM
check out POR-15

doublejz
02-12-2009, 12:34 PM
i've used por-15 on alot of stuff and it always works. It is a bit expensive tho. Alot of people will suggest chassis saver but I have no experience with it.

SirFuego
02-12-2009, 12:51 PM
Chassis saver is great. I had my axles sandblasted and them painted with Chassis Saver -- it's holding up great. My bumpers, which were bare metal, also had chassis saver and I haven't had to do any touch ups -- and the bumpers have been dragged over rocks and taken some solid hits. It does, however, tend to chip off of stuff that flexes (like a beefy tie rod hitting a rock).

That said, it does NOT fit the requirement of being weldable or removable by paint thinner. It also acts as a non-removable temporary tattoo if you get it on your skin. Over time as the skin cells rub off, it will come off -- but that's the only way I've seen it come off.

john00TJ
02-12-2009, 11:19 PM
head over to your local autobody body supply store and pick up some acid etch primer ..thats what you want ,you wont have to remove it and can prime and paint later ...

OverkillZJ
02-12-2009, 11:27 PM
Rust Prevention: Move southwest.

Krod
02-12-2009, 11:46 PM
WD-40 and a scotch-brite pad.

Rub it in, but be prepared to clean the hell out of the metal before you prep for paint. Works surprisingly well (if you clean it off properly) and is CHEAP.

RedRaider