Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Transmission flush

Thread: Transmission flush

PghOffRoad Regular

Transmission flush

I just got new tires and the guy told me i needed my transmission flushed. I'm thinking about doing it myself and saving me the money but i've never done it before. Anyone have any advice on how to do it? What kind of oil i should use? Or is this something i should leave for the pros. Dont want to eff it up as its my daily driver. Its a 1996 Cherokee with 150,000 miles. And i've had it for almost two years and i havent flushed it. Ever.
    "Cowards die many times before their actual deaths."
    -Gaius Julius Caesar

Less posting, more wheeling!
    ehhhhh first thing.... if a tire guy tells you your tranny needs flushed i'd question why?

most of the time a guy who changes tires doesn't know jack about trannys

second... at 152k i wouldn't change it. if any thing, i'd drain a small amount out and squirt some Lucas tranny treatment in there. but if it's shifting fine, leave it alone.

if you insist. dropping the pan and changing the filter is not too hard. use rtv to seal it back up and add some ATF fluid. it's not a complete flush, but it will fresh up maybe 1/3 of the fluid.

i wouldn't completly flush it.

With 150k miles, if the fluid isnt cherry red/pinkish anymore dont even bother flushing/changing the fluid.

Any kind of damage caused by old fluid has already happened.

However, if your fluid still has some color to it, use ONLY DEXRON/MERCON III. ATF will destory the AW4 pretty quickly. If you change it yourself you'll have to drop the pan and change the filter and drain whatever fluid comes out. Drive it for a week or so then re-drain/re-fill. You may have to do this several times until you get all of the old fluid out. Im sure theres more detailed write-ups on NAXJA or JeepForum.

Trail Leader