Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Driveway mechanic WANTED
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Driveway mechanic WANTED

Web Wheeler!

Driveway mechanic WANTED

Hey again, I just got my Aussi Locker and am going to attempt to install it tomorrow, and I need some pointers. I am not that experienced
    with taking apart axles, and f#*king around with the ring gear and simalar things, it makes me sweat. Do I need to take my axles completely out or just a few inches to clear my carrier?

Premium Supporting Member OverkillZJ's Avatar
    RTFM

(directions)

Web Wheeler!
    Wow, why didn't I think of that :icon_fU:, oh wait I did. Funny how they always leave some mundane detail out.

Yeah I know, I'd tell you if I knew, I've only done it on Dana axles with I'm betting you don't have

Web Wheeler!
    My axle is a dana 44. Isuzu did at least 1 thing right lol.

Quote Originally Posted by OverkillZJ View Post
    Yeah I know, I'd tell you if I knew, I've only done it on Dana axles with I'm betting you don't have
    Unfortunately, I think you be wrong. I believe he has a D44 rear.
    If I wanted to hear from an ass, I'd fuckin fart.

'01 Silverado 2500HD crew, D.D./tow pig.

'86 Jeep MJ longbed 2wd SLOWLY evolving to '99 4wd <--FOR SALE

Quote Originally Posted by john00TJ View Post
    i wouldnt let that dude paint my mail box, but whatever

In that case, it depends on what gear ratio you have. If it's not too low, you will not need to remove the carrier or the ring gear at all. You'll only need to pull both shafts out a few inches so that you can remove the spiders, and install the locker. It's not as bad as you think, I promise.